Where History meets the
Frank Lloyd Wright's apprentice - architect J.C. Caraway designed the Inn in
1948, the construction project was completed in 1952 known as
“The Rest Haven Motel.”
That was a historical moment; it was the only lodging establishment on the 120-mile stretch of Highway 14 between La Crosse and Madison, Wisconsin.
After ownership changed hands and a renovation occurred in 1992, under the supervision of another of Wright’s students, James Pfefferkorn, the name was changed to The Usonian Inn, underscoring the building’s heritage as one of the Usonian Style.
Nestled in a park-like setting just blocks away from the downtown shops and restaurants, the Usonian (yoo-so-neee-an) Inn, is Spring Green's first Taliesin inspired motel, built in an era when the wide highway could take you anywhere!
We are committed to
social and economic sustainability
at all times by embracing
the Green concept at
a great speed.
Alternative savings are abundant; so, we adhere to start our contribution of
saving the earth -early,
one day at the time.
The DESIGNER MAKEOVER
that took place during
our ownership, helped us
to implement the most
and the greatest
that are suitable for
The Rest Haven Motel catered to the greatly increased automobile traffic and automobile-related tourism that was transforming the American lifestyle following the end of World War II. The original owners were Mr. and Mrs. John Michels and their architect was Jesse C. Caraway. Caraway was one of the earliest members of Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin Fellowship, which was located some three miles south of Spring Green across the Wisconsin River at Taliesin, Wright's Wisconsin home. Caraway's motel design adapted a number of features that are closely associated with Wright's Usonian residential designs; these were developed during the years that Caraway was at Taliesin.